Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award

The Labriola Center is pleased to announce the winner of the 13th annual Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award:

Dr. Dylan Robinson, Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Arts at Queen's University for their 2020 book Hungry Listening: Resonant Theory for Indigenous Sound Studies.

Honorable mention goes to Dr. Brittany Luby (Niisaachewan Anishinaabe Nation), Assistant Professor of History at the University of Guelph for their 2020 book Dammed: The Politics of Loss and Survival in Anishnaabe Territory.

Past winners of the Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award include:

2019 Dr. Christopher Pexa, Assistant Professor of English and affiliate of American Indian Studies at the University of Minnesota, for Translated Nation: Rewriting the Dakhota Oyate.  

Honorable mention goes to Dr. Philip Deloria, Professor of History at Harvard University, for Becoming Mary Sully: Toward an American Indian Abstract.

2018 Dr. Margaret Bruchac, Assistant Professor and Coordinator, Native American & Indigenous Studies at University of Pennsylvania​ for Savage Kin: Indigenous Informants and American Anthropologists.  Recording of Interview

Honorable mention goes to Dr. Cutcha Risling Baldy, for We Are Dancing for You: Native Feminisms and the Revitalization of Women's Coming-of-Age Ceremonies​.

2017 Dr. Elizabeth Hoover, Manning Assistant Professor of American Studies at Brown University for The River is in Us: Fighting Toxics in a Mohawk Community. Recording of interview 

Honorable mention goes to Dr. Leanne Betasamosake Simpson for As We Have Always Done: Indigenous Freedom Through Radical Resistance

2016 Dr. Delphine Red Shirt, Professor at Stanford University for George Sword's Warrior Narratives: Compositional Processes in Lakota Oral Tradition.

Honorable mention goes to Dr. William Bauer for California Through Native Eyes: Reclaiming History

2015  Sarah Deer, Professor of Law at Mitchell Hamline School of Law for The Beginning and End of Rape: Confronting Sexual Violence in Native America. Recording of interview 

Honorable mention goes to Clint Carroll for Roots of Our Renewal: Ethnobotany and Cherokee Environmental Governance.

2014 Dr. Brenda Child, associate Professor of American Studies and America Indian Studies at University of Minnesota for My Grandfather's Knocking Sticks: Ojibwe Family Life and labor on the Reservation. Recording of interview 

2013 Dr. Andrew Graybill, associate professor of history at Southern Methodist University for The Red and the White: A Family Saga of the American West. Recording of interview 

2012 Dr. Daniel Herman, professor of history at Central Washington University for Rim Country Exodus: A Story of Conquest, Renewal, and Race in the Making Recording of interview

2011 Dr. Cathleen Cahill, Assistant Professor of History at the University of New Mexico for Federal Fathers and Mothers: A Social History of the United States Indian Service, 1869-1933 Recording of interview

2010 Dr. Malinda Lowery Assistant Professor of History at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for Lumbee Indians in the Jim Crow South: Race, Identity, and the Making of a Nation

2009 Dr. Paul Rosier, Associate Professor of History at Villanova for Serving Their Country: American Indian Politics and Patriotism in the Twentieth Century

2008 Dr. Daniel Cobb, inaugural winner for his book Native Activism in Cold War America: The Struggle for Sovereignty


Award Criteria

Books submitted for consideration for the Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award may cross multiple disciplines or fields of study, but must focus on topics and issues that are pertinent to Indigenous peoples and nations.  Of particular interest are those works written by Indigenous scholars or in which Indigenous persons played a significant role in the creation of the nominated work.  Authors need not be affiliated with a university, though that is desirable.  Scholars may also work as independent researchers, for research institutes, tribal offices, government agencies, and similar institutions.  Please see the nomination form below for further information.

The author of the winning manuscript will receive a cash prize of $500 and an invitation to speak at the award announcement ceremony in April. The judging committee will consist of ASU faculty Dr. David Martinez (committee chair) from American Indian Studies, Dr. Henry Quintero from the Department of English, and Dr. Marisa Duarte from Justice and Social Inquiry in the School of Social Transformation.

For each nomination, please send 4 copies of the book and a completed nomination form to the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, Attn: Alexander Soto, ASU Fletcher Library, PO Box 37100, Phoenix, AZ 85069-7100.  For questions please email

Book Award Nomination Form (.docx)

Book Award Nomination Form (.pdf)


Dedicated in 1993, the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the ASU Library is one of the only repositories within a public university library devoted to American Indian collections. The Labriola Center holds both primary and secondary sources on American Indians across North America. The Center's primary purpose is to promote a better understanding of American Indian language, culture, social, political and economic issues. The Labriola National American Indian Data Center has been endowed by Frank and Mary Labriola whose wish has been that “the Labriola Center be a source of education and pride for all Native Americans.”

Arizona State University is committed to American Indian scholarship and offers several academic programs led by noted American Indian faculty including a Bachelors of Science and Masters of Science degree in American Indian Studies, an Indigenous Teacher Preparation Program, an American Indian nursing program, and the Indian Legal Program.