Suggestion Box Responses - Archived

We appreciate hearing from you. Below are our responses to some comments/suggestions that have been made by ASU Library users.

Suggestion

Submitted:  Friday April 25, 2014
Regarding:  Hayden Library Hours

Comment/Suggestion: I strongly encourage the idea of having the library open 24 hours on sundays as well as weekdays.  Sunday nights I'm usually studying for Monday and the following week, and it's a little ridiculous that the library is closed on a school night.  Sunday is a school night for me and probably most students.  It would be awesome if the hours changed.

Library Response:  Good news!  We actually are open all night on Sunday nights during the school year.  During the fall and spring semesters, Hayden Library opens Sunday mornings and doesn't close again until midnight on Friday.  Hayden only closes at midnight Friday and Saturday nights.

Also, during the period before finals, Hayden is open 24/7.

Suggestion

Submitted: February 11, 2014
Regarding: Web site

Comment/Suggestion:  Searched your website for about 10 minutes trying to find the digital collections. Finally I just gave up and googled it... which brought me to repository.asu.edu. It looks like you lots of nice collections.  Too bad there is not a good way to find it from the library website. You may want to think about that.

Library Response:  Thank you for sharing your experience with us.  This is a good example of usability.  This semester we have the ASU Digital Repository highlighted on the front page of our site as the "Featured Resource" but clearly it didn't attract your attention.  I've sent your feedback to the web developer and the repository manager so they know how this content is being searched for.  We collect feedback on the web site all the time and incorporate it into future updates.  

Suggestion

Submitted: January 30, 2014
Regarding: Interlibrary Loan

Comment/Suggestion: Keep up the great work ILL. I just received a requested article within a few hours! 

Library Response:  Thanks for sharing this compliment.  Our ILL service is really fantastic, and fast!

Suggestion

Submitted: January 29, 2014
Regarding: E-Journal Access Problem

Comment/Suggestion: Just a really minor comment about accessing older issues of the American Journal of Physical Anthropology: The ASU library page lists articles post-1965 as being accessible via EBSCOhost EJS, but in fact EBSCO only has full text articles available for those published after 1997. Because of this, there is no option to ILL articles directly from the content preview page. I don't mind filling out the ILL form by hand, but it is a little time consuming, and it increases the likelihood of transcription error that could interfere with processing.

Library Response:  Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention.  We reported this right away to the staff who manage our ejournal subscription access.  Our subscription is indeed only provides access to 1997-Present for this title throuhg EBSCOhost EJS. The staff updated the holdings information and they should now appear correctly when you search for an ejournal title. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

 

Suggestion

Submitted: January 24, 2014
Regarding:  Community Access to Hayden Library Overnight

Comment/Suggestion: I really enjoy using the Hayden Library. I go to school during the day in the community college system and ordinarilly work at night.

I would love to be able to study after work, but cannot because of the hours policy. I think it would help people such as myself, and I would be willing to pay for it, if after-hours access for non-students, could be obtained by buying a special card. It could be annually renewed, and put money into the coffers of the library. It would allow any non-ASU student who wishes to unfettered use of the library during all hours it is opend. Thanks.

Library Response: Thank you for inquiring about the policy regarding Hayden Library's overnight hours.  While we do appreciate your situation, and can understand why you would like to have access to Hayden overnight, especially since the community college libraries seem to close so early in the evening.  Unfortunately, it is not possible for us to expand access to Hayden Library after midnight to non-affiliated patrons.  The overnight hours are restricted to ASU affiliates as a security measure, and we are not able to adjust that policy.  In addition, they are supported by funds earmarked specifically for this service for students.

You continue to be welcome at Hayden Library any time between 7am and midnight.  

Suggestion

Submitted: January 15, 2014
Regarding:  Alumni Access to Online Resources

Comment Suggestion:  As a recent graduate who would like to continue to do independent research in my field, I wish there was an alumni option for maintaining online access to articles and journals. I would pay for the privilege.

Library Response:   We do hear fairly often from some alumni who desire continued access to our electronic resources.  It is the case that our contracts restrict us to only providing access to currently enrolled students, and current faculty and staff.  We aren't able to add alumni access to these contracts. 

We may be able to assist you in other ways, however.  If you have remained in the valley, you are welcome to visit any of our library locations and access electronic resources via public computers or your own laptop or mobile device using the ASU Guest network. 

You  may also freely search our online catalog and Library One Search to identify materials you are interested in prior to coming to our locations to access them.  In addition there are several other research databases that are able to be searched freely by all: 

  • WorldCat - Global Library Catalog
  • ERIC - Education
  • PubMed - Medicine and Health Sciences
  • NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service
  • Free E-Resources compiled by the Library of Congress

If you aren’t able to come into one of our locations, your local library may be able to either provide access to them, or you may be able to request them via Interlibrary Loan.  In addition, you are welcome to utilize our Ask a Librarian (email or chat online or in person at one of our information desks) for assistance in locating information, using our collection, or in assistance locating alternative resources available to you in your local area.

Suggestion

Submitted: Tuesday December 17, 2013
Regarding: Chat service

Comment/Suggestion: Why have a chat system, when some one from ASU doesn't answer, but a librarian from New York?  It is just going back to the old contracted system when they can't answer my questions.  Sorry can't answer, please call, e-mail or visit hayden library.  that totally defeats the idea
of a chat system.

Library Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are continuing evaluating our chat service, and we appreciate your suggestion. Currently, we are using a cooperative reference chat service. In this service, reference questions may be answered by librarians that are logged in from other institutions. Most questions can be answered in this way, but some specific questions may have to be referred back to our staff to answer. In that case, we will answer your questions within 24 hours or sooner, depending on the method you contact us. We are sorry you were not satisfied, and we will use your feedback in our evaluation.

Suggestion

Submitted: Thursday December 5, 2013
Regarding: Book Availability

Comment/Suggestion: It would be great to be able to read Ender's Game, by Orson Scott Card. The timing is pretty good, too, right now due to the movie release. I would wager the book is much, much better (since that is normal in my experience), but there currently is not a copy available for loan beyond the 72-hr reserve desk. I'm guessing it will take longer than that to read.

Library Response:  It's true that the only copy of Ender's Game that we have is currently on reserve, and it would most likely take longer than 72 hours to read.  But you can request a copy be sent to you from another library through our new Borrow It Now service.  Just click on the "Borrow It Now" icon from the catalog page of the book you want, and a search will launch to see if it's available from other libraries.  If it is, you can request it and it will be here in about a week.

Suggestion

Submitted: Monday December 2, 2013
Regarding:  Outlets in Hayden Library

Comment/SuggestionHello to the wonderful ASU library staff!  Apologies if this is not the correct place for a maintenance matter, but I wasn't sure where else to put it since it clearly does not belong in Helpstar.  :D  This is just a heads-up to let you know that there are several laptop zone study carrels whose electrical outlets do not work on the 3rd floor of the Hayden library (near the PS shelves.)   Thought you might like to know!  

Thanks so much for everything you do and have a great winter break.

Library Response:  Thank you so much for alerting us to this problem.  We've contacted our technicians, and hopefully will get these outlets back into service asap.

Suggestion

Submitted: Wednesday November 20, 2013
Regarding:  Printer/Copiers in Hayden Library

Comment/Suggestion:  Hi, I want to talk about copy machine in the Hayden library. There are multiple copy machines there, but except the first floor, there is single copy machine each level. I am frequently staying underground level, and checking domestic newspapers for collecting data. The problem is that a copy machine at the underground level is "frequently" jammed, and there are considerable time for fixing this jam, about one day.Because there is only one copy machine per level, the only way for using copy machine is to go another level and use another copy machine.

I recommend additional copy machines should be set per level for students' convenience, and if it is not currently possible, please have technicians dealing with copy machines at Hayden library check them frequently and fix the problems.

Library Response:  Thank you so much for alerting us to this continuing problem, which we understand is frustrating.  The copier/printers were removed from this floor during last year's construction project, and only one was returned. We just made a request for at least one additional machine to be added to this floor, and will follow up to ensure that it is in place as soon as possible.

 

Suggestion

Submitted: Thursday November 14, 2013
Regarding: Lighting in Hayden Library

Comment/SuggestionHi, I am a ASU doctoral student frequently studying Hayden underground level, but I find several times some lights there are habitually turned off. I guess some librarians turn on and off lights, but please TURN ON lights at underground level. I strongly feel some areas are so dim, so I asked ASU to turn on the lights last time.

Please, Please turn on the light there!

Library Response: Thanks for alerting us to the problems with the lighting on the lower level of Hayden Library - it's not good to have to study in the dark!  We actually don't intentionally turn off the lights in the library, at least not when it is open.  The only exception are on a few floors with book stacks where we have some "energy saving" lights that turn off when no one is around.  We did identify some lights that are out on the lower level, and have reported that to facilities.  We hope they will have this fixed soon.

In the meantime, we hope that you can find an alternative study location that has sufficient lighting for you. Please let us know if you would like any assistance identifying other options.

Suggestion

Submitted: Wednesday November 15, 2013
Regarding: Hayden Library - Silent Study Zones

Comment/Suggestion:  There needs to be more monitoring in the silent study zones. So many people come in here and are disrespectful to other students who are trying to study. It really isn't fair that there is not more regulation on who comes into these silent areas. So sick and tired of having to constantly move because of students always talking where they shouldn't be and no one here to keep them in check

Library Response:  

Thank you for contacting us regarding the difficulty you are experiencing in the Silent Study Zones at Hayden Library.  We totally understand your frustrations, as you should be able to enjoy a silent study environment in those zones, without being disturbed by fellow students talking.

We have for many years relied on the study zones to be self-monitored, and for a while it seemed to work out ok.  But you are not the first to inform us that is not currently the case, and that library patrons are not respectful of requests to be quiet in the silent zones.   Unfortunately, we are not currently staffed at a sufficient level to be able to routinely proactively monitor the noise in these levels on a regular basis.  We will, however, ask our staff check in on the silent study areas as much as possible.  But if disruption occurs when no staff are present, if you are able to step out of the silent room, please call our front desk at 480-965-3605 and let us know where the disturbance is, and we will send a staff member to intercede.  

We are trying to come up with a better way, as we know that calling the desk isn’t always an option solution.  While the specific solution is unclear at this time, our goal is to come up with one that will improve the experience in the library.

Please us know if you have any further questions, comments, or suggestions about how we could deal with this situation. 

Suggestion

Submitted:  Wednesday November 14, 2013
Regarding:  Hayden Library Furniture

Comment/Suggestion:  There is a round white table on the ground level floor of the library at one of the lounge stations that is broken. There is something wrong with the base of it and you cant set anything on it without the whole table tipping over. Would be awesome if it got fixed!

Library Response:  Thank you so much for alerting us to this problem: wobbly tables are no good at all.  We actually found two tables in the lounge area on the upper concourse that fit this description, and we fixed both of them today.  Please let us know if we missed any.

Suggestion

Submitted: Friday October 18, 2013
Regarding: Noble Library - Study Rooms

Comment/Suggestion: Why can't alumni use the individual study rooms? Your web site specifies that only students can use the reserved group rooms but there is no such language referring to the individual rooms. I gave a lot of money to the school and still do and I can't get some benefits two days out of the year. Alumni should be welcome.

Library Response

We are glad you still use the services of the ASU Library as an alumnus, and appreciate your continued support of the university. We have many alumni and outside researchers that use our collections and resources, and we outlined services that are available to alumni on our web site at https://lib.asu.edu/policies/alumni.

Some of our services, however, are only for currently enrolled students or currently employed staff. The use of the individual study rooms in the Noble Library are one of those services. Those rooms can be checked out with an active ASU Sun Card or Pitchfork Card. The rooms are extremely popular, and they are typically full of students by mid-morning. We are very sorry if there was some confusion about those rooms, and the language on the web site will be corrected immediately so that it reflects the policy accurately and no longer causes confusion.

We have many other spaces in the library that are not restricted to current students and are available for all. There are both collaborative areas for groups collaboration, as well as quiet, scholarly areas for self-study. We hope those areas can fit your needs in the Noble Library.

Suggestion

Submitted: October 4, 2013
Regarding: Library Hours - Fall Break

Comment/Suggestion:  

I have recently heard about the library's hours over Fall break and that it is going to be closed, without 24 hour days.  This is a serious problem.  Many of us have exams, are not leaving for Fall break, and do need that time to study in the library.  I don't think Hayden needs to be closed.  The Noble library isn't as much a concern because it is typically expected that Noble operates in shorter hours, but Hayden is different.  It is the only place on campus for students to study overnight, and there are a lot of us who study overnight.  There's even a Hayden Gangsters Facebook page where there is a community of us who consistently use the library overnight.

It is important to not shut the library down overnight for those nights, especially from Sunday forward.  That is absurd.  ASU has a large number of online courses and online students who need to use the facility as well.

Library Response: 

I know this is too late for this year's Fall Break, which was two weeks ago.  But I do want you to know that we heard and appreciate your comments about the hours for that weekend.  We are in the process of evaluating usage, demand and other feedback from this year's fall break, and are making decisions about the hours for next year.  We will be providing additional library hours during fall break next year, but are not quite ready to announce the specific hours yet.

We appreciate hearing from students who use the library regularly, especially students like you and your colleagues who are there so much. Please continue to share your feedback with us.

Suggestion

Submitted: October 6, 2013
Regarding: Hayden Library Furniture

Comment/Suggestion:  I am wondering if we can have some higher tables in the Hayden library. Every time after a long studying day, my back hurts, because I have to stoop for the low table. Thanks for your hard work. 

A student

Library Response

Thanks for your comment. We love to hear that students are using our spaces, and sometimes for much longer than we realize! We are continually looking to improve the open learning spaces for students. We have purchased tables of various heights in the Hayden Library. I hope that some of our four taller tables (there are two on the lower concourse and two on the upper concourse) will suit your needs. We will also take your comments into consideration when designing other areas in the library.

 

Suggestion

Regarding:  Hayden Library Facilities

We have received many complaints about the temperature of the lower level of Hayden Library, including:

October 19: It is too cold in PVM to the extent that a jacket, jeans and closed toe shoes will not even keep you reasonably sheltered from the cold temperature. Maybe the temperature is supposed to be cooler because of all the electronics in the new classroom or because of the larger expected number of students because of the new classrooms. However, I have noticed an extreme difference in the temperatures in the new classroom area and PVM. It seems like it is colder in PVM than in the classrooms which doesn't make since because it is unnecessary. Another thing is that when there are classes in the rooms, there are not nearly enough people to even make the argument that high body temperature can be countered by colder temperatures, it's overkill! I have studied at ASU for four years and have used PVM as my main study area. After the decrease in temperature, I have also observed a decrease in the amount of students who use the facility. Also there is no reason why it should be so cold in PVM at night when it is no longer summer and approaching winter. Another thing I would like to mention, is it costs a fair amount of money to keep a building at low temperatures. How much money is being spent on these ridiculous temperatures? I have also heard other students complain about how cold it is down in PVM, so I know others are experiencing the same problem and not just myself.

October 15:  I am down here at the Hayden basement all the way from California. I came to see my son's favorite place to study. I am deeply troubled by how cold it is down here. I pay more than enough out of state tuition for my son to not have to deal with these ridiculous issues. Thanks to the employees down here that allowed me to type in this comment, I am not only suggesting, I am demanding that you change this.

October 7: The Lower level is way too cold! Turn up the temperature please!

October 4: Hayden Lower Level is freezing for gods sake

September 30:  Could you please turn down the temperature in PVM please? It is far too cold to concentrate.

(plus many more)

Library Response

We are very sorry that the temperature has been so cold down in the PVM section of the Lower Level of Hayden Library.  We have reported this again today (October 30) to the campus facilities department, and will closely monitor their response.  We understand how hard it is to concentrate and work when you are shivering!

Suggestion

Submitted: Monday October 21, 2013

Regarding:  Ask a Librarian

Comment/Suggestion:  The "Ask a librarian" chat option is very misleading and unhelpful. If I have questions specific to ASU library it is not helpful to be directed to someone at Northeastern University, who of course tells me I need to ask some in the campus library.

Library Response:

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the answer you received from our chat service. We are using a chat reference service that is a consortium of many academic libraries. As we are unable to staff a service 24/7, we use this service to compliment our in-house and phone services that are available during normal business hours. We also have an email service that is answered by ASU Library staff and librarians. We do appreciate your feedback on this chat service, and will take your comments into consideration as we evaluate our services.

Since you are ASU affiliated, you do have other options for reference help as well. You can find the subject librarians  assigned to your college, school and department at https://lib.asu.edu/librarians, who are.  Your librarian can help you with any of your library questions via email or phone, and is also available for scheduled research consultations.

 

Suggestion

Submitted: Wednesday October 23, 2013

Regarding: Downtown Phoenix campus LibraryServices

Suggestion: In the computer areas of the Downtown Campus, I consistently encounter people who use their phones, speak loudly in groups, or just goof off. It would be great if the library started some sort of campaign to discourage this type of behavior. It's very distracting.

 

Library Response

Thank you for your comment.  We are very sorry that you are not finding the computing areas in the Downtown Phoenix campus Library to be a good study environment for you.  The ASU Library are doing all possible to create the best study environments for all of our students.  Due to the size of the Downtown campus Library, the only silent area is located behind the vault, and there are unfortunately no computers there.  However, we support people acting in manners that are disruptive of other students' study time, so if you come to the Information Desk and let us know if you are experiencing this behavior in the library.  This way we can discreetly approach the specific individual or group and request they cease their disrupting behavior, or relocate to different area.

You can also use one of our 12 study rooms, five of which include a computer.  You can use these rooms as either an individual or group study space.  You can reserve one in person at the Information Desk up to one week in advance and use it for a maximum of 4 hours.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or comments

Suggestion

Submitted: Monday January 7, 2013

Regarding: Online Services

Suggestion: I just used your 'chat' function, and I want you to knowhow GREAT I think it is. Excellent help!

 

Library Response

We're so glad you find Ask a Librarian - Chat useful!  Our librarians are happy to help, and are available 24/7.

 

Suggestion

Submitted: Monday December 17, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:

I'm wondering why there isn't any enforcement of the levels of quiet zones (i.e. stoplights). Why is it left up to library users to have to have awkward conversations with people who are violating the rules? Negotiating with people who are disrespectful of the library rules is as distracting to my studying as the initial distraction of people making noise in quiet zones.

 

Library Response

 

Thank you for taking time to express your frustrations with the study zones at Hayden Library. I'm very sorry that you've had difficulties, and agree you should be able to experience the level of quiet a particular area is zoned for. 

Since we introduced the study zones in 2006 we have always relied on the zones to be self-regulated by the students, as we do not have enough staff to assign to proactively police the zones for noise violations.  This system seemed to work for several years, as we had very few complaints.  However, this past semester we've had many complaints that students are not respecting each other's needs for quiet, nor responding well when asked to respect the zones.   We are trying to figure out how to better address the situation, and wish there was a more definitive answer. But we will discuss it after break is over to see if there are other things we can do in the spring to get library users to utilize the right zone for their studying needs. 

Good luck with the rest of your finals.

 

Suggestion

Submitted: Saturday November 24, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion: The library is SO ridiculous hot right now! it is hard for students to focus when they are constantly sweating! Also, the lights in the girls bathroom near the elevator on the main floor is out so it's always really dark in there.

 

Library Response

We know that there continues to be challenges with the heating and cooling in Hayden.  We are communicating with campus facilities to try to rectify this problem.

Thanks, also, for alerting us to the problems with the lights.  This has also been reported to facilities, and will be fixed.

 

Suggestion

Submitted: Wednesday October 3, 2012

Regarding: All Libraries

Suggestion: ASU is called a New American University and it is such a huge establishment! Levying fine charges on petty things like headphones, earphones, and study room keys is like very bad. Students who borrow these sometimes might get stuck on live online lectures and may lose track of return time. If ASU cannot have enough resources for all the fees it gets from students, then I think it is quite an embarrassing mark on its reputation. Such small fines only seem meaningless! Quite a shame! Sorry to say so .. But library should be motivating enough and not like this!

Library Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the fines in the libraries.  It sounds like you had a frustrating experience and didn't realize your study room time expired.  I can understand how that would happen, especially if you were absorbed in your work.

I'd like to explain why we have these fines for these items.  It is not at all the intention to use them to make any money.  Rather they exist for the express purpose to serve as motivation to return the item (headphones, study room key, etc) so that they can be equitably shared with your fellow students.  In a university of this size, there is no way we can have enough of any item to have it available for everyone who needs it.  In the case of the study rooms in particular, they are in very high demand and are a much sought after resource.  We are striving to ensure that all students have an opportunity to have a quiet, individual place to study.  If we had no late fees, or even if we charged a smaller amount per hour, we likely would have many keys not returned on time.

 

Suggestion

Submitted: Friday September 28, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:  The first floor hayden group study rooms need to be better ventilated in order to promote a more comfortable academic experience for those who are trying to succeed here at their university.. Please consider providing air conditioning to these rooms as they are an obstacle at times to higher learning.

 

Library Response

We totally agree that students deserve to study in a comfortable environment!  We have noticed that the entire entrance level of Hayden is warmer than usual lately, and that makes those enclosed rooms warmer still.   The Hayden Library administrative office has reported the problem to campus facilities, who will hopefully adjust the temperatures.   

 

 

Suggestion

Submitted: Thursday September 20, 2012

Regarding: All Libraries

Suggestion: I personally as well as numerous peers of mine love studying at the library!  There is truly no better place on campus to sit down and really hit the books.  However, far to often we find there is rarely a group study room open.  Granted early in the morning there are, but since we have classes when we return mid day there are generally none.    It would be nice to see an increase in group study locations.

Library Response

Thank you for your feedback about the need for more group study locations.  We know this is a resource that is valued by students, and while we haven't been able to construct new enclosed rooms, we have adapted some of our open study areas with new furniture (tables, chairs, media tables, rolling whiteboards), to make them more usable by groups.  We will continue to try to identify and improve spaces to expand study areas for both individuals and groups.

Suggestion

Submitted: Thursday August 24, 2012

Regarding: Noble Library

Suggestion:  Hi ASU Libraries, I just wanted to say THANK YOU for adding the extra tables in Noble library. All the students appreciate it a lot and nobody used the aisles of books that were there prior.

Library Response

We’re so happy you like the new tables!  We took to heart the feedback students shared with us last year, and our staff worked very hard over the past 8 months to move the books and bookshelves out of that area to make room for the new tables, chairs and white boards.

Welcome back to campus, and good luck this semester!

Suggestion

Submitted Monday June 18, 2012

Regarding: Polytechnic Library

Suggestion:  Studying in the study rooms at the Poly library is awesome, they provide quiet space and privacy. However, looking outside the window is horrible and unsightly. There are webs, dust, and tons of dead foilage all over the place. I wish that it could be cleaned up so that I would not feel so uncomfortable opening up the blinds.

 

Library Response

Thank you so much for your email about this issue.  Scott Muir, the director of the Polytechnic campus Library, contacted Facilities right away.  They are in the process of working on cleaning up these areas, with the south side complete and areworking on cleaning out the excessive foliage on the north side.  Once completed they will have it sprayed for pests allowing for the spray to work. After that, the techs will work on the remaining building exterior and windows.  They hope that it will be completed soon.

Suggestion

Submitted Tuesday June 12, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:  Could you please tell your staff to lower the volume of their headphones when they are shelving? Again, it's the second time this happens to me on the first floor of Hayden during a weekday morning. The volume of the music in their headphones is just SO loud that I can hear it from quite a distance. It is a disturbing noise not only for me, but for every other user in the room.

 

Library Response

We are sorry that the volume of the shelver's headphones is disruptive on the quiet floor of the library.  We have reminded our staff to be mindful of the quiet study areas and keep the volume in their headphones turned down to a level that can't be heard by others.

Suggestion

Submitted Sunday June 3, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:  Hello, could you tell me where I would complain on thenoise coming from the church bells? The bell music heard every hour is long anddistracting as it is of a very poor quality. After a while, it gets annoying.Thanks for understanding.

Library Response

I believe you are referring to the Carillon, which isplayed over speakers at the Memorial Union.  They play "clockstrikes" on the hour, and music at 5pm.  See more information aboutthe Carillon at http://www.asu.edu/vppa/carillon/

We contacted the Carillon and found out that the volume has not be adjusted and think that it is more audible now in the library because there are fewer people on campus (and in the library) in the summer.  They've agreed to turn the volume down a little during the summer.  We hope that helps.

Suggestion

Submitted Wednesday May 9, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion: The entrance to Hayden could really be improved with the addition of large sun shades or sun canopies like those outside the MU.

And what is the deal with those dozen or so orange/pink concrete monstrosities? Oversized sand/rock boxes? We'd have more seating space if someone just bulldozed em.

Library Response

Thanks for your comments about the Hayden Library Courtyard.  We agree that additional shade and seating would beneficial to that area, and will look for opportunities to improve it in the future.

 The sandstone boxes you refer to were originally designed as planter boxes, and for many years housed lovely trees in them.  Unfortunately the trees have died, and they aren't conducive at this time to grow additional plants.

 

Suggestion

Submitted Saturday March 10, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library 

Suggestion:Today i went to the Hayden Library to find some books for one of my classes. I looked up 3 different books and went to the second floor to find them after 20 mins I went down to talk to one of the people at the information desk. No one else was in line and I stood there and waited for a while before I was asked if I can be helped. At that point I told her that I was looking for these books but could not find them. At that point see looked at me and said. Well you can go online and request them and they will be able to get it Monday. I needed those books today. No one offered to check and go up to see if the books were in the right place or anything. This is there job to help out the students, if they do not feel like they want to do there job then you guys need to find people that will. I work in customer services and if i was every that non help full or rude I know i would need to look for a new job.

 

Library Response

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry you found our customer service lacking during your recent visit, and that you were not able to find the books that you needed. Saturdays at the Hayden Library are very lightly staffed and we don't always have the staff level to leave the desk and help students locate books. Low weekend staffing levels also result in books that are placed on hold during the weekends often are not processed until Monday.

We agree that the staff member at the desk should have greeted you in a more timely manner and explained these circumstances to you. We'll remind staff to be more mindful in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

 

Suggestion

Submitted Monday March 12, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library / Computers

Suggestion: The computers at Hayden library are WAY too slow. It took me 15 minutes to download a doucment and open it. This isn't the 90s anymore.

 

Library Response

We're sorry you were so frustrated with your experience using the computers in the Hayden Library.  We know this is an issue and have a project planned to increase the memory in these computers, which we hope will improve their speed.

Suggestion

Submitted Sunday March 11, 2012

Regarding: Hayden Library / Web Site

Suggestion:  I am a student at another university. There are archival items I would like to look at in your Arizona Collection. I just wasted at least a half hour trying to find the library hours to arrange a visit.  Is it really so difficult to list the information so a non-affiliated researcher can find it?  It is not immediately obvious that the items I need are in the "Luhrs Reading Room". Really?  I'm supposed to know what that is??? I'm guessing your own students don't even know what it is. Every other school I have visited clearly lists the hours under "Special Collections".  Clicking on "Special Collections" on your website gives me NO useful information.  Try looking at reputable schools like UofA or NAU to get some ideas of how to be more user friendly

 

Library Response

We are so sorry that you had such a frustrating experience with our web site, but are glad you took the time to share your feedback with us.  Many of our special repositories, such as the Arizona Collection, the Chicano/a Research Collection, Child Drama Collection, University Archives, and Special Collections, are accessed by visiting the Luhrs Reading Room.  We are in the process now of inserting links to the Luhrs Reading Room hours in as many places as possible, which you can now see on the Special Collections page and added an explanatory note to the "Luhrs Reading Room" entry on the Hayden Library hours page. If you would like to consult with the archivists before your visit, they can be reached at archives@asu.edu or at 480.965.4932.

Suggestion

Submitted Thursday February 2, 2012

Regarding: Polytechnic Library

Suggestion:

At the Polytech campus, I would like to see the group study rooms in the library wall to wall with whiteboards.

Library Response

Thank you for the suggestion. We think having wall to wall whiteboards in the study rooms at Polytechnic is an intriguing idea so we’ll be looking further into this possibility. Thank you again for the excellent suggestion!

Suggestion

Submitted Tuesday December 6, 2011

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:

The computers at Hayden have been extremely slow many days this semester, particularly on Blackboard but also just surfing and downloading files. Internet explorer often does not respond for several minutes.

(Also see note from August 30 about computer slowness)

 

Library Response

Thank you for your feedback on the public computers in the library. We are painfully aware that the computers are slow and have identified the causes. First is the complexity of the "common image," which all the public computers on campus utilize. The "common image" is configured to look at all applications and settings before showing the desktop. The second issue is the library computers are short of memory and need to be upgraded.

For the library's part we will be upgrading memory to all our computers this spring. UTO hopes to accelerate their Virtual Desktop Initiative (VDI) which will resolve the second part of the problem. These problems have brought about not by our or UTO's neglect but by the university's severe budget cuts. We face many challenges with our cyberinfrastructure but have only a limited amount of dollars to correct them. We hope this may be corrected by our request for a raise of the student technology fee.

Suggestion

Submitted Monday December 5, 2011

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:

The red zones are not usually regulated and it is extremely frustrating trying to get work done, when there are people discussing their social life. Its currently occurring on the 3rd floor, and is extremely obnoxious. Can someone please be put in charge of regulating these certain areas?

Library Response

Thank you for contacting us about this concern.  We understand that, especially at this time of year, the library can get noisier than expected, and you should be able to experience the quiet that is expected in the Yellow and Red Zones of the Library.

Unfortunately we do not have sufficient staff to dedicate to enforcing the quiet zones.  We rely on these areas to be self monitored, but understand if you are not comfortable asking other students to respect the zone they are in.  We do have some staff and student security personnel who are in the building at all times, and they will be happy to intercede and ask people to move to a green zone if they need to talk.  The best thing to do is to step out of the red zone and call the desk at 965-3605 to let us know there is a problem.

Good luck with your finals!

Suggestion

Submitted Monday December 5

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:

I visited the Hayden library on 12-5-11 at approximately 4:30 pm.  The women's restroom behind the cafe isin need of cleaning.  Dirty Paper towels were over flowing all out of the receptacles.  Larger bins or more frequent emptying is needed.  Poor service and a health hazzard.

Library Response

Thank you so much for reporting this to us.  We immediately contacted Custodial Services who assured us it would be taken care of.

Suggestion

Submitted Monday November 7, 2011

Regarding: Hayden Library

Suggestion:

While many students try to be quiet at the library, there are some employees who do not, particularly when talking on the phone. It would be nice if they also tried to maintain library voices while at work. Thank you.

Library Response

Thank you for letting us know about your concern. We are sorry that the library staff was talking too loudly and it disrupted your studies. We have sent an email to the employees reminding them to respect quiet study zones. Look out for signs posted in the library which indicate which type of zone you are in. Zones with yellow or red stop lights are Quiet or Silent zones and if you notice a noise disturbance please do not hesitate to contact library staff at the nearest desk to ask for help with this. If you are in a Green Zone (also known as a Common zone) some noise and discussion is to be expected as it is not a quiet zone. Again, please let library staff know about your concerns so we can help you find a study area that best fits your needs.

Suggestion

Submitted Monday November 7, 2011

Regarding: Printing

Suggestion:

Due to the university's sustainability initiative, it would make sense for the university to encourage double sided printing. If a student makes the extra effort to go into the dialog box to print double sided, they should be rewarded with a decrease in cost. Currently if we print 4 pages one sided it costs 40 cents. If we print four pages double sided (2 sheets) it still costs 40 cents. By printing double sided it reduces the amount of paper used plus reduces cost of supplying as much paper and replacing it in the machines. While I recognize that ink still costs, I would suggest charging a few cents for the second side. My proposal is to charge 10 cents for the first side and 2 for the second so a total of 12 instead of 20 cents for one double sided sheet. I hope that you take this suggestion seriously as the benefit could be wide spread. Thank you for your consideration.

Library Response

Thank you for your suggestion. Your idea is a good one and so we have contacted Canon Business solutions, the contractor who runs the printing and copying in the libraries, to ask about it. We are exploring different options such as having double sided printing become the new default setting as well as different pricing for different types of printing. We should have the new printing policies in place by the start of the spring semester in January. Thank you again for your suggestion!

Suggestion

Submitted Friday October 7, 2011

Regarding:  Hayden Library

Suggestion:  

I like to study in Hayden especially night time, but one difficulty I frequently feel is that illumination of some places, especially the underground level and the second floor are so dim. I think some librarians periodically turn on and off some lighting night time, but then they sometimes forget to turning it on.

Please keep the lighting turning on night time and some dim places make brighter than the past. Thanks.

 

Library Response

Thank you for contacting us about the lighting situation in Hayden.  We understand how important light is when you're studying! There is an energy saving project on the second floor that automatically turns off lights when there is no movement.  However, it was not intended to impact study areas so we have contacted the project manager so they can resolve this problem.  We are investigating the lighting in the lower level to see what is possible to improve it.

Suggestion

Submitted Tuesday October 4, 2011

Regarding:  Hayden Library

Suggestion:  

It would be really nice if there was a way for me to either text or email myself information about a library book from one of my searches (i.e. Author, Title, Call #, and Location).  I don't see anything on the searches or my Library account that easily lets me see that information.  I found out that I can put books into a book cart, but I don't know how to access any of the information in my book cart from the main website or myASU.

Library Response

This is a really good suggestion.  Both about the about the ability to text information, which isn’t available yet, and how difficult it is to find how you can email your saved records.  We're going to be upgrading our catalog/book search in the coming year, and I'm going to share this feedback with the group who will oversee that process.  Hopefully in the next version we can make that easier.

In the meantime, you can email yourself information from your searches.  Once you "mark" the items you want to save, click on the button to "save marked records."  That puts them into a "Cart".  Then click on the button at the top to "View Saved" (the button has a picture of a shopping cart).  On the next screen, choose "View and Export" your records.  That will give you the option to email them to yourself (or anyone else).

Again, thank you for your feedback on this.  Good luck with your work, and please let us know if we can assist you in any way.

 

Suggestion

Submitted Tuesday September 20, 2011

Regarding:  Fletcher Library

Suggestion:  

Some of the nosiest people in the library are the librarians, or staff.  Please have them close their doors if they're going to talk or laugh out loud.

Library Response

We understand that loud noises when you are studying can be very distracting and we have contacted the library supervisor at Fletcher about your concern.  The library supervisor has reminded the staff to be respectful of the quiet study areas in the library.  Thank you for sending in your suggestion.

 

Suggestion

Submitted Tuesday August 30, 2011

Regarding:  Hayden Library

Suggestion:  

Why in the world do these computers take approximately 10 minutes to restart and then log a user on? A friend of mine has to allow herself 30 minutes just to log on and print a document.

Library Response

This is definitely a problem.  We have alerted the University Technology Office about the slow start time and they are working on a solution.  Thank you for voicing your concern about this.